dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
gilbert_osm
join:2013-02-01

gilbert_osm

VPN device recommendation for an IT consultant.

I'm an IT consultant, Mac-focused. I want to set up reliable, secure, full-network access to my customers' small-office networks, ideally by sending them a pre-configured hardware device that they plug in to the LAN side of their network.

On my side, I want to use the excellent Mac software VPN client "VPNTracker 6".

Based on the list of devices compatible with VPNTracker 6 (see here: ( »www.vpntracker.com/us/ad ··· ity.html ) ) can someone point me in the right direction?

I need full, transparent access to the customer's entire class C network, i.e. 192.168.1.x, with the ability to do ICMP pings & pass through all other protocols "as if" I am on their physical network.

Thank you for your suggestions.

Anav
Sarcastic Llama? Naw, Just Acerbic
Premium Member
join:2001-07-16
Dartmouth, NS

Anav

Premium Member

Why would you want to use a client at your end. More than likely its the customer that should use a client or a predefined SSLVPN download that many business class routers provide. You on the other hand should get a decent VPN hardware device. IMHO
gilbert_osm

1 edit

gilbert_osm

Replies that question my basic assumptions are not useful. Please stick to what I asked.

- I need a software-based solution so that I can be fully mobile on my end. That is non-negotiable.
- The device needs to be cheap enough that I can buy & deploy it affordably, i.e. low capital investment cost on my part.

I'm sure there are plenty of suitable devices out there, I just need some specific recommendations as a place to begin my research. Thanks.
Expand your moderator at work
HarryH3
Premium Member
join:2005-02-21

HarryH3 to gilbert_osm

Premium Member

to gilbert_osm

Re: VPN device recommendation for an IT consultant.