Search similar:

uniqs

bbchris2nd
Joke Factory
join:2010-09-03
Australia

bbchris2nd

Website Link

I have an html page for Contact Us named contactus.html. When I click on the link Contact Us it displays on address bar as www.example.com/contactus.html. How can I remove the html extension when I click on Contact Us that will display www.example.com/contactus

Just a newbie here.

TIA.

cdru
Go Colts
MVM
join:2003-05-14
Fort Wayne, IN

cdru

MVM

Multiple different ways to get an extensionless URL. Depending on the what you are using for the server, you can use URL rewriting so that the server internally adds the .html (or .aspx, .php, etc depending on type of site). We'd need to know what type of system it's being ran on (apache, nginx, IIS, etc).

A poorman's way of doing it is to put contactus.html inside of the directory of /contactus and rename it index.html. Then ensure that index.html is in the list as a default document for a directory. When www.example.com/contactus is requested, the directory contactus is checked to see if it exists, and if it is is there a default document (index.html) located in side of it. You're address bar URL will change to www.example.com/contactus/ which isn't exactly what you asked for, but it's still a semi-extensionless URL.

sbconslt
join:2009-07-28
Los Angeles, CA

sbconslt to bbchris2nd

to bbchris2nd
If using Apache, this is a built in part of its content negotiation logic called MultiViews. You might have to enable it at the config.

Ashke
Flips page and continues reading
Premium Member
join:2007-09-11
Minneapolis, MN

2 edits

Ashke to bbchris2nd

Premium Member

to bbchris2nd
Ok... If you are using the very very basic language, HTML... This is how it works:

Your WWW directory (where you store your site
index.html
filename.html
contactus.html

do this...: