spc
Search similar:

uniqs

mattrixx
join:2004-02-18
Orland Park, IL

mattrixx

ATT DSL keeps dropping connection

What would cause my ATT DSL Internet to randomly drop connection?
This random connection drop occurs sometimes once a day or at least several times a week!
I/we use our Internet every day and for many hours every day.
How can I go about finding the culprit, or at least understand the problem?
Please keep any explanation simple for I am a NON expert average consumer/user.

I have ATT DSL PRO with Speed Stream Modem and Asus RT-N66U Router.
Everything is set correctly AFAIK and generally works well MOST of the time, with the exception of "out of the blue" unexpected random dropped connections!
This then requires a re-start of Modem and Router by turning off each (button(s) in rear,
then turning back on Modem first, followed by the Router after the DSL solid green light appears on front of Modem, in order to complete the "Ethernet" connection light on the front of Modem. Finally after the "Internet" and "Activity" light starts blinking and syncing, I get all 4 steady green lights on the Modem and Router shows normal lights, I am ready to go again!

I have updated the Firmware of the Asus Router to the latest revision recently, and can
NOT find anything amiss in the Router`s software Interface or settings. I have not looked at or changed anything in the Modem`s settings, software or Interface since I first received it from ATT many (?) years ago.

Thanks for any insight into this issue.

d_l
Barsoom
MVM
join:2002-12-08
Reno, NV

d_l

MVM

Which Speedstream modem version?

Your description indicates that the modem is making the PPPoE connection, correct? Have you determined if drops are due an interruption of DSL sync or simply loss of the PPPoE connection?

Can you access your modem stats?

mattrixx
Orland Park, IL

1 edit

mattrixx

Hi and thanks for your reply

Modem is SpeedStream 5100