All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs

systemq
@dslextreme.com

systemq

Anon

Ready to dump Windows, is Mac or Linux better for me?

Hi.

I've been using Windows since version 3.1. My current OS is Windows 7. I have zero knowledge about Mac's and zero knowledge about Linux. I know about them, just never used them.

I use my computer for work, editing photographs and maintaining a website as a hobby, and of course browsing the web. That's pretty much it. I don't play games. Yes, I sound like a lot of fun.

I'm looking to get a newer PC soon. I've seen Windows 8 at stores, checked them out a few times, and find it awful. I also read that Microsoft is going to make Windows and Office subscription based in the near future... so I said to myself F@%& that. Seems now is a good time to switch and learn a new operating system.

So for someone who mainly uses Office, Photoshop, and Firefox, what operating system would be better for me?

I know Mac has Office and Photoshop and would probably need to buy them for the new operating system, and Linux has alternatives for free. I tried OpenOffice for Windows a while back and did not like the Word and Excel alternatives. It also had no Outlook. I have no idea what Photoshop for Linux is.

So what do you guys think, for someone who has a lot of experience with Windows, but hates where they're going, and no experience whatsoever with any other OS, which one would better for me?

I really have no preference for an all-in-one machine (like Mac's) or separate desktop+monitor. Just something that I can use for a long time, won't be frustrating to use.

Appreciate any feedback. Thanks!

Krisnatharok
PC Builder, Gamer
Premium Member
join:2009-02-11
Earth Orbit

3 recommendations

Krisnatharok

Premium Member

Linux will keep hardware costs down, and has some pretty friendly GUIs, like Mint or Ubuntu.

El Quintron
Cancel Culture Ambassador
Premium Member
join:2008-04-28
Tronna

2 recommendations

El Quintron to systemq