share rss forum feed

vaxvms
ferroequine fan
Premium
join:2005-03-01
Wormtown
kudos:3
reply to systemq

Re: Ready to dump Windows, is Mac or Linux better for me?

You might be able to find a Mac at a public access location (library, school/college) you can use to see what it's like.
--
CMKRNL

itguy05

join:2005-06-17
Carlisle, PA

1 recommendation

reply to systemq

Mac.

I'm a Linux server admin by day and my desktop is Mac. Why? Just as reliable but way easier to use and get support for. Yes, Linux is getting better but Mac is there today and will be there going forward.

I have a Red Hat Desktop for work and it works well, but things are just harder and take more work to do. Since it has an Nvidia card whenever there is a kernel update I have to re-install the video drivers to get X to work. With my Mac it just works.

That being said, I've got Linux Mint on an old Netbook at home and it's quite good. However upgrades are more of a rip and replace rather than a true upgrade like OS X.

Don't get me wrong, I love Linux and it's rock stable and flexible for the server side. It's getting there but not ready yet for the Desktop.

Macs come with great photo management out of the box - iPhoto is good, Aperture is paid but great. You can do Photoshop or another great app called Pixelmator. GIMP is about all there is for Linux and, IMHO Sucks the big one.

Yes, Macs can be expensive as they really don't compete at the bottom of the barrel. But like everything else you get what you pay for. I'm typing this on a 2008 Macbook Pro that still works as the day I bought it and will most likely for another couple years.

me1212

join:2008-11-20
Pleasant Hill, MO
reply to systemq

Just a thought OP, but I couldn't understand if you were dead set on a desktop or if you would be considering a laptop from your initial post. Do you have an preference? I know thinkpads are very robust. You could dual boot windows and linux on one, if you wanted to. Just a thought like I said.