how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

TheGlow

join:2004-04-19
Brooklyn, NY

Constant time freezes on Samsung boxes, Brooklyn NYC

I moved a year ago from one section of Brooklyn and Fios to this Time Warner horror death trap.
I'm across the street from the Cablevision cutoff line. I had issues with Cablevision before but jeez, I didn't know someone could be worse.
Besides the constant voicemails and taking nearly 2 weeks to get someone out because they kept insisting I was in a Cablevision zone, I finally get some cable in and internet.
I work in IT so I have a decent understanding whats going on. I don't have the exact model numbers on hand but they were samsung boxes, one is DVR and I see the HDD in there.
My main gripe is very often the timer on the front panel will freeze. You pass by, oh, 3:20, i got an hour until (insert activity here). Pass by a little later, 3:20, oh good, i have an hour...
wait, 3:20? Check something else, damn, its 5:10.
Also this sometimes leads to the channel guide being empty as it wont know the time, or it will have the correct time. Only way back is to hard boot it by pulling the power cord.
That brings us to 5-9 min boot time land.
And both boxes will take turns doing this.
Sometimes when closing the channel guide, the mini preview window in the corner gets stuck black and stays that way until I hard boot or wait about 15-20 mins.

Also the cable modem constantly loses connection. Often to the point of I cant even connect to it from 192.168.100.1 so I know it's not me. also the log page is full of errors, dhcp usually.

I see some mentions of different boxes performing better. Any suggestions on a preferred dvr, normal box and modem if applicable?

Only other option is DirecTV and Verizon DSL. And as bad as TWC is, I'd like to steer clear of that combo.

Satch

join:2009-11-25

1 edit

said by TheGlow:

I moved a year ago from one section of Brooklyn and Fios to this Time Warner horror death trap.