share rss forum feed

thender
Screen tycoon
Premium
join:2009-01-01
Brooklyn, NY
kudos:1

PC-based CCTV DVR for 10 cameras

I bought 10 of these very high quality CCTV cameras which I am amazed at. Weatherproof, 70+ infrared LEDs, I can see things clearly, you can make out the color of shit in almost complete darkness. I love them. They were well worth every dime. With price haggling he threw in a DVR for free. The cameras rock, the DVR... trash. Best quality it can encode is barely visible video, and it corrupts a lot of it. So, I want to make a PC based DVR.

My needs are simple.

a) Remote network viewing over a web browser or using 3rd party software.

b) Video quality where I can choose settings. I have lots of experience encoding x264, xvid, etc, so I can deal with something more advanced than "better, best, ok, low quality" in video settings.

c) It can email me if it senses motion during set time frames.

d) It works with a basic capture card, we don't use ip cameras.

No PTZ or other crazy stuff. I'm curious of a few things from experienced CCTV veterans.

a) How powerful a computer would I need to have 10 fairly good quality streams recording at once? I remember trying to trans-code a raw mpeg stream to h.264, with decent settings on a core 2 duo I'd get 3-20 FPS on one encode.

b) What are some decent packages to use to get this up and running? I am not asking for a precise answer, but since I am overwhelmed with choices, would appreciate a point in some good directions.
--
Macbook Screen Repair

Macbook LCDs for sale.

cmaengdewd

@cox.net
A couple of things. Most DVRs allow you to set resolution, frame rate and image quality. Without knowing that it's hard to say what level of PC hardware you'll need. Also some DVR cards offer hardware compression, reducing the need for a higher powered machine.

I like the NUUO and Geovision cards, they are more expensive but worth it IMHO. As to PC, if buying new I'd probably do an i5.

Fickey