how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

iPhone28

@telus.net

pfsense / windows server 2008 R2

Hi there,

I am very new to this technical world ! I have installed virtual-box on my pc and pfsense. When I ran the pfsense, it displays the DHCP and IP address (10.0.10.1).
Also I have installed windows server 2008 R2 and given a static IP address (10.0.10.5) and gateway address (10.0.10.1) but it is not connected.
I am getting ! sign on my network right bottom of screen.
Please help me. Thanks in advance.

gweidenh

join:2002-05-18
Houston, TX
kudos:3

Need more information, but it sounds to me like you want to play around with pfsense for awhile before using it as your firewall? Is this the case? In this case, I wonder why you are going to the trouble of installing Windows Server 2008 on another virtual instance? You can configure pfsense from the host machine that is running pfsense instead.

However, if you want two virtual machines on the same host machine to be able to network together, you should use the "Internal Networking" mode. You will need to shut down both VMs, go into their networking settings and change this mode.

»www.virtualbox.org/manual/ch06.html

Expand your moderator at work

iPhone28

@telus.net
reply to gweidenh

Re: pfsense / windows server 2008 R2

My main purpose here is to create a network, where 2 created VMs can connect to each other and can talk to each other etc.

These following are my settings in pfsense

pfsense (Adapter) --Bridged Adapter
name — IntelR Centrino® Wireless-N 1030 (name of my computer adapter

2nd tab (Adapter 2) — Host Only Adapter
name — VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter

Under Window Server 2008 — setting are
Adapter 1 — Host-only Adapter
Name — VirtualBox Host-Only Ethernet Adapter

Please advise where I am falling over !

Thank you in advance.

gweidenh

Houston, TX

Dont use bridged mode for pfsense.

iPhone28

@telus.net

Thanks.