how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Ralre

@198.36.94.x

[HELP] Connecting Cisco Air AP1142N to Teklogix 9150

Hi,

I am in dire need of some guidance, I have some very old wireless units(Teklogix 9150) these are set up to provide roaming wireless. For a few days now I have been trying to setup the Cisco to adopt the same SSID, and extend the coverage of existing wireless.
Right now I have completely reset the Cisco AP to start again from scratch because I have lost my way in the configuration. Any help or advice would be GREAT! If any information is needed please let me know, I will provide what I can.
I have done everything I know how to do, I am a beginner at Cisco but I am trying to learn.

HELLFIRE
Premium
join:2009-11-25
kudos:13

First off, do you have functional console access to the 1142? If not, then find a 9pin serial to rj45 cable (and possibly
a USB to 9pin adapter cable) and connect to the port labelled "CONSOLE" to get console access. Use Window Hyperterm
with a 9600-8-N-1 config. If you get a "ap>" prompt from Hyperterm, you should be in a good starting point.

If so, then the next question is how comfortable you are with CLI configuration?

Not sure if you can configure a 1142 from a Webui with no base config -- and I don't have one myself to test with.

Regards

Ralre

join:2013-02-11
Millbrook, AL

I am currently connected to the AP with the console cable. I have set the ip of the unit and then I use a crossover to connect to the ethernet port to do config with the webui.
I can get an SSID set(same as TEKLOGIX), set the encryption. The problem I am having is that it does not seem to mesh into the other wireless I have. The radio will go up for about 4 minutes, and then reset. This will continue to happen no matter what I change.
I am using a program, InSSIDer to watch the units performance, and it will appear for maybe 10 seconds and disappear. It does not act right.