dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
OneHeart
join:2002-02-20

OneHeart

[General] Did AT&T Disallow Custom Passwords?

Is AT&T now generating passwords/keys for us to use in our modem/routers to connect to its DSL network? The one I have been using for 3 years now no longer works.

graysonf
MVM
join:1999-07-16
Fort Lauderdale, FL

graysonf

MVM

Quite some time ago I decided to reset my network password. However when I did this, I discovered that I cold not chose one myself, the system chose it for me. There was no warning that I would not have the opportunity to chose my own password, and once the system chose one for me it was too late to back out of the change.

burris
Premium Member
join:2000-08-22
Palm Beach Gardens, FL

burris

Premium Member

Some time ago I think I also ran across this.

They indicated something about a new password, etc., and I created another one myself and it has worked since.
I'm lucky I can remember my old ones much less any new ones.

NormanS
I gave her time to steal my mind away
MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
TP-Link TD-8616
Asus RT-AC66U B1
Netgear FR114P

NormanS to OneHeart

MVM

to OneHeart
said by OneHeart:

Is AT&T now generating passwords/keys for us to use in our modem/routers to connect to its DSL network? The one I have been using for 3 years now no longer works.

A couple of years back AT&T implemented a change in the way the PPPoE (DSL network) password was generated. At that time it was mandatory for new accounts, but optional for existing accounts. It seems they are now making it mandatory for existing accounts, as well.