dslreports logo

All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs

JorgeAlmazan

Anon

[HELP] Need help setting up a Cisco Lab in my Home environment.

Hello everyone, I'm currently studying for the CCENT exam. I invested in two 2611's and one 2950 switch. I'm really busting my brains on how to get my lab setup while not interfering with my current home network. I've looked everywhere I could but I'm simply too confused about how this is to be done. So let me attempt to ask you all what I need help doing.

HOME NETWORK: 192.168.77.0 255.255.255.0
cable modem --> apple router --> gig switch --> Primary PC

CISCO Lab Requirements:
-Need to be able to telnet to all equipment from my Primary PC on my home network.
-Must be able to ping Cisco routers and switches internal IP Addresses

I have seen the OPTION BLUE diagram listed above. But I don't understand whether or not this means my Primary computer wont be able to communicate with my cisco lab. Can someone please help me out? I'm very excited about getting to work on these routers but I just need a little help getting started.

All help is appreciated. Thanks.
chandom
join:2001-05-23
Tallahassee, FL

chandom

Re: [HELP] Need help setting up a Cisco Lab in my Home environme

Click for full size
If your Primary computer has two Ethernet ports, connect one to the home network and the other to the lab network.

The option Blue diagram that you posted was if the Cisco router was going to become the primary home router.

JorgeAlmazan

Anon

Thank you so much for clarifying that for me. Just purchased another network card Thanks.

So if my Home router on the 192.168.77.0/24 network, and my first cisco router was on 10.0.1.0 network everything would work just fine?
chandom
Tallahassee, FL

chandom

Sorry, just realized you had 2 2611 routers.

Somebody else might be able to suggest a better way to be able to access both routers via telnet without having a separate NIC for each router.