All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs
ccjmcmahon
join:2013-02-16

ccjmcmahon

Rather complicated VPN help...

I am new to VPN with some basic networking experience... I would like to create a VPN connecting my Windows 7 PC to my Android 2.3 phone. I set up a VPN on the PC just using Change Adapter Settings via Control Panel. With everything set and ready to go, I put the name etc. into my phone and... nothing. It can never connect.
I think I may know the reason, and I have been unable to find resources online with a similar set up. My network looks like this:

Win7 PC Router \
Xbox 360 Router - Jolicloud Netbook/modem
Ubuntu PC (((WiFi))) Router /

I use the netbook running Jolicloud to share its internet connection through the router to the other 3 devices (Win7 PC, Xbox, Ubuntu PC). The ethernet port from the netbook is connected to the "modem" port on my router. On the other end, the netbook is connected to my house's primary wireless network (that the rest of the family uses). That combination router/modem (really a piece of garbage from Frontier that we're required to use) is the first access point.

This is done mainly to A) give my Win7 PC an internet connection (no wireless card; a solid gaming rig though) and B) strengthen the wifi signal in my office. I believe the problem lies in the external IP address of the Win 7 PC, and that somehow the shared internet connection is changing/altering it without my knowledge.

I'm getting two Raspberry Pis shortly and hope to have this figured out before then... Thanks for reading this novella!
HELLFIRE
MVM
join:2009-11-25

HELLFIRE

MVM

a) what do you hope to accomplish with the VPN

b) can you put the Frontier router/modem combo into some sort of bridge mode?

If you hope to connect the Android phone to your Win7 PC while on the road, you'll DEFINATELY need
to be able to reach your public IP address you're currently getting from Frontier.

Regards
ccjmcmahon

ccjmcmahon

Click for full size