spc
Search similar:

uniqs
cdheer
join:2004-04-28
Gurnee, IL

cdheer

Terrible WiFi Performance

My background is purely in wired networking, so troubleshooting my own WiFi makes me a bit crazy. If folks can point me in the right direction, I will gladly do some reading, etc., but honestly my google-fu has failed me so far.

I have AT&T U-Verse, which (for those unaware) comes with a 2WIRE 3801HGV router. Behind that router, I have a Cisco/Linksys E3000 running DD-WRT v24-sp2. The U-Verse set-top boxes are all connected (via Ethernet) to the 2WIRE. Any other Ethernet devices (PCs, etc.) are behind the E3000.

My initial configuration was to have the wireless shut down on the 2WIRE and run 2.4GHz N on the Linksys. In fact, before the Linksys I had an ASUS router doing this. But wireless performance was just terrible -- even with N-capable laptops, I'd be lucky to get 5 or 6 megabits (note that this is as reported by speedtest.net or similar; I don't pay much attention to what Windows thinks the connection speed is). I figured it was a cheap router, so I got the E3000 to replace it.

Performace still gets terrible. It's not ALWAYS terrible (though it's never GOOD), but sometimes it's almost unusable. Rebooting the E3000 seems to help briefly, though never for very long.

So I fired up wireless on the 2WIRE and created a separate SSID. A couple of family members moved to it, and the performance was significantly better. But once we all moved (five laptops, a couple of desktops, a pair of iPads, and a couple of game consoles), performance went south. I even shut down the E3000's wifi to see if there was interference, but it made no difference.

Just to rule out network issues, I ran Wireshark. Aside from the dumb 2WIRE constantly ARPing, there was nothing even remotely chatty happening.