All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search similar:

uniqs

SM
@rogers.com

SM

Anon

Possible to set up a WEP network from a bridged WPA network?

I'm very sorry if this is in the wrong place - I'm fairly new to wireless networking in general and am wondering if this setup I've got going is even possible.

I live in a house which broadcasts WPA (in accordance with the forum rules, I am allowed to use this router but I have no physical access to it nor permission to change its settings, nor am I looking to gain either of those things - no cracking involved here!). However, I have a Nintendo DS Lite which plays a few games that can only connect to Nintendo WFC with a WEP connection.

I have a D-Link DIR-615 router that I have installed the latest version of dd-wrt firmware on, and it is currently functioning as a bridge (mostly in working order, wired devices receive spotty internet from it). Connected to that I have a TRENDnet TEW-652BRP router, which I would like to use to broadcast WEP for my Nintendo DS to connect to.

The TEW-652BRP so far can provide Internet access via ethernet to wired devices. However, when I enable WEP128, none of my devices are able to connect to it (my Nintendo DS gets an error code "51302", which apparently means the authentication settings are wrong, but I have re-tried entering the information many times, my Win7 laptop gives me an ambiguous error message). Furthermore, when I changed the TEW-652BRP wireless to WPA (with a different SSID and key than the house WPA router) to see if the wireless on it worked at all, my non-DS devices can connect to it just fine with Internet access.

Here is a network diagram of what I'm trying to do: »i.imgur.com/o1eifN1.png

Is it possible to successfully broadcast WEP on the bottom-level wireless router?

Thank you for your time.

John Galt6
Forward, March
Premium Member
join:2004-09-30
Happy Camp

John Galt6

Premium Member

Try the 64-bit WEP...

eibgrad
join:2010-03-15
united state

2 edits