cdweber83
Premium Member
join:2001-02-21
Lincoln University, PA

1 edit

cdweber83

Premium Member

Smoothwall Firewall/Router and Verizon FiOS

First off I do know the basics of Networking. Anything advanced im lost so I need answers easy to understand but im not a complete novice and going in blind. Anyway.... My question is about using Verizon FiOS Modem/Router with my own Router/Firewall (Smoothwall). All I did was turn off Wireless on Verizons Router and plugged my smoothwall right into the LAN port. Internet works through the smoothwall and I have access to the Verizon Router via 192.168.1.1 and to my smoothwall via 192.168.0.1. Both run DHCP and Verizons Router is set at defaults. My setup is this: (internet)-coax-(Verizon Router)-ethernet-(Smoothwall Router)-ethernet-(switch)-ethernet-(Logitech Revue)and(access point)-wireless-(Laptop, Printer, Phone, Tablet).

Now the real question is, is this the best way for max security? Will two Routers working as routers cause any conflicts? How do I know my Routing and Firewall is being handled by smoothwall and not bypassed to Verizons Router? I have seen others bridge the routers and turn off DHCP on Verizons Router but that seems to make the STB for TV stop working...

Maybe Relevant info: DHCP on smoothwall is 192.168.0.100 - ".".0.200. Verizon is 192.168.1.2 - ".".1.254. My access Point is static ip 192.168.0.227. netmask as smoothwall calls it is 255.255.255.0 Verizons subnet mask is the same. Verizons Router still has to work as a router because as I understand the STB for TV pulls its data from the Router via the coax cable... however the STB does have a ethernet port on the back.

If you need more info just let me know what you need.

clarknova
join:2010-02-23
Grande Prairie, AB

clarknova