Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Clodas

join:2009-01-13
Boston, MA
reply to Max Greene

Re: Horrible youtube speeds

I am relatively new to FiOS, I've been a customer since 6/2012 in the Winchester, MA area. I don't think this is fixed, I am still unable to watch youtube videos at 240p. If I run a speedtest I get 80Mbps down and 35Mbps up. Everything else is blazing fast, but go to youtube, and its slower than a 14k modem. The only way around this is to shutwifi on my iOS devices to connect to the LTE network or came by computers connect to my iPhone's hotspot to watch a youtube video.

The fact that this has been happening for years (per online forums) troubles me and tempting me to change carriers when my contract is up this summer. Its a shame considering how great the rest of the service has been.

navyson

join:2011-07-15
Upper Marlboro, MD
reply to AlanM
I am here at work today and youtube plays great even 1080P video with absolutely no buffering.

Youtube plays great on my Verizon Wireless cellphone(1080p) as well.

Verizon/Google/Youtube need to work on an resolution. For Verizon, its not enough to just say its Youtube problem. Work with them to solve the issue.

Issue is more prevalent on Verizon than on any other ISP.

This past summer during the Olympics, I was able to watch Live streaming youtube events at 1080p with no problems. Fast forward a few months, and sometimes 240p is a struggle.

There is more to the story. Why can't we have an official communication from Verizon.

alanisrox69

join:2005-03-29
LHV, PA
reply to AlanM
Experiencing the same problem here. Obviously YouTube/Google is doing this on purpose. Google Fiber vs Verizon Fiber.
--
CHECK YOUR FSLC TAXES!!!

birdfeedr
Premium,MVM
join:2001-08-11
Warwick, RI
kudos:9
reply to birdfeedr
At approx. 18:00 (a few minutes both sides), pktstat shows video feed coming from 173.194.7.178.
One video tested, only one hiccup on a 240p feed.

173.194.53.181 @ 480p
208.117.240.42 @ 1080p