how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

[HELP] Advice setting up Cisco Home Lab

Current Network
Click for full size
Possible Setup???
Hello everyone. I'm fairly new to Cisco and I recently set up my Cisco lab and it is separated from my home lab. Problem is that I want to work with the SDM, DHCP, and NAT configurations and access the internet from my Cisco Router. My computer has two NIC cards: one to connect to my home network and the other to connect to my Cisco network.

Attached I have my current setup. What I need is to modify this setup to have my Cisco 1721 and Airport Extreme to both have access to the modem simultaneously. Keep the networks separated, but maintain the connectivity from my PC via NIC2.

Also I need to know if it is okay to plug in a switch directly to modem. I seriously doubt it.

I will also attach a snapshot of what I think the solution may look like. Although I don't think connecting a switch connecting directly to the modem is the correct method to do this.

A side note: I would not mind using the Cisco 1721 as my primary home router and just use the airport as an A/P, but the router only has 1 10/100 Ethernet port on the back. This means I'd have to have the 2950 turned on all the time, unless I used my gigabit switch as an intermediate switch. The third diagram is my second option and I think this could do what I need it to do.

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

DarkLogix
Texan and Proud
Premium
join:2008-10-23
Baytown, TX
kudos:3
The modem will likely only give you 1 DHCP IP (its possible it could give more but unlikely.)
--
»Death Star Petition

Would the third figure in my post work?

aryoba
Premium,MVM
join:2002-08-22
kudos:4
reply to JorgeAlmazan
You can try to hook up both the Airport and the 1721 router to the modem and see if both devices receive IP address from the modem via DHCP.