Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

symbiance

join:2012-06-03
Ambridge, PA
Reviews:
·Comcast

cheap cable card tuner compatible with comcast?

I am looking for a cheap cable card tuner that is compatible with comcast. I dont care about dvr, on demand, interactive menu or pay per view. I just want something a a cable card goes into (as a set top box) and watch all my available channels.

I know i can rent a dta, but i figured if i just buy a cable card tuner and just pay the comcast cable card rental fee, id be getting a better deal than getting a dta.

My bill shows a cable card is $1.15 a month, while a dta is $1.99. Correct me if i am wrong please.

Thanks
Chris

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

you cant buy a set top box. you can buy a tuner for your PC and use that.
--
I'm better than you!

symbiance

join:2012-06-03
Ambridge, PA
reply to symbiance

I have a tivo stb already which uses a cable card.

Anyway i can get a pc tuner to work with a tv?

FordTractor

join:2003-03-25
Fishers, IN
Reviews:
·Comcast

I currently have a HTPC with two Ceton cards - each with a Cable Card. This allows me to have a 4TB hard drive to record on with 8 tuners and I have XBox 360's on the other TVs to watch live and recorded TV. Works quite well but if you're only after the most cost effective solution, this is not it.

If you want cheap, you could stick a Ceton Card in an old PC and use it to watch TV but that's still $199 at Newegg in addition to a cheap PC. There are other tuners out there that are cheaper but it depends on Comcast service (like whether they're using Switched Digital Video in your area). Good luck.

SLAYER6669

join:2011-09-07
Toms River, NJ