Blogger
Jedi Poster
Premium Member
join:2012-10-18

1 recommendation

Blogger to AZinOH

Premium Member

to AZinOH

Re: Collection Agency...What Is Typical?

Actually, for once at least on this subject anyway I'm actually a legal expert. Unfortunately, as in all these threads the posts are a mix of accurate and bullshit and so you can't tell the difference so over all they are of little help.

I could post a detailed accurate moderately lengthy reply but then some talking out his ass poster, the minority of posters here but still a significant number, would just contradict something I posted and you would still be confused.

Speaking generally remember two things:

1. It's your nephews problems and not yours in any legal obligation way. I wouldn't hesitate to give his phone number out if the agencies bother you. But that's just me.

2. There is nothing that the collection agencies have that you want but there are things that they want from you. They have no legal power over you. Remember that.

pcdebb
birdbrain
Premium Member
join:2000-12-03
Brandon, FL
ARRIS DG1670

pcdebb to CylonRed

Premium Member

to CylonRed
said by CylonRed:

Unless Clark Howard is being paranoid but the collection agency will have you recorded identifying yourself, the debit and then your admissions that you owe it. Clark has said for the last couple of years that simply saying you owe the debit is enough to reset it (it could be a state by state thing as well).

might be a state by state thing, but i can't see this being legit in any case. i can be the evil twin answering the phone and giving the answers you seek just for the hell of it. collection agencies will tell you anything to scare you into forking over money. not everyone knows the rules and regulations of the fair credit reporting act. I've had my share of dealing with them back in the day and learned plenty from them and their tactics (not everyone that ends up dealing with them are deadbeats)
pcdebb

pcdebb to faughro