smerre01
Premium Member
join:2003-09-23
Greer, SC

smerre01

Premium Member

Network Admin looking for NAC solution

Hello gang,

I am a network admin and have been looking for a software of sorts that will alert me if a non-domain device is plugged into my network. I have problems with users at remote locations hooking in linksys wireless routers, even though the policy is against it. Long story short, is anyone using anything currently and how well does it work?
HELLFIRE
MVM
join:2009-11-25

HELLFIRE

MVM

What kind of gear are you currently running? If it's unmanaged / vanilla stuff off the shelf, you may be SOL.

Off the top of my head, Dot1X is something you may want to look into; I know Juniper and Cisco sell solutions for
this -- question is how much do you have to spend?

If you're running managed gear out at the remote locations, STP, BPDU guard, and DHCP snooping is your friend
for when (l)users decide they are entitled to wire in their home routers into the core switch via the LAN port
and start spamming UPNP crap and DHCP / DNS broadcasts that generally borks the network for everyone else.

Regards

joako
Premium Member
join:2000-09-07
/dev/null

joako to smerre01

Premium Member

to smerre01
You can setup 802.1x with Windows server. Do your switches support it? Any limitations that you couldn't live with?

smerre01
Premium Member
Greer, SC

smerre01

Premium Member

Well our networking switches and routers are managed by the ISP, we manage the domain controllers and so forth at each location. I don't really have a fortune to spend as we just purchased the office 2013 pack for all locations which was pricey. I would like to have something that would run on each domain controller if possible and monitor DHCP and let me know if something joined the network that was not a domain machine.