site Search:


 
    All Forums Hot Topics Gallery






how-to block ads


 
Search Topic:
Uniqs:
2928
Share Topic
Posting?
Links: ·DSLR HAM FAQ ·FCC ·MARS ·ARES/RACES ·SKYWARN
page: 1 · 2
AuthorAll Replies


Robotics
See You On The Dark Side
Premium
join:2003-10-23
Louisa, VA
Reviews:
·Verizon Wireless..
·Comcast

Anybody else getting this on radio reference today/tonight?

Click for full size
Click for full size

mr weather
Premium
join:2002-02-27
Mississauga, ON

Yes got the same warning too. Is it legit?
--
"It's all coming down!!" - Mike Holmes



Robotics
See You On The Dark Side
Premium
join:2003-10-23
Louisa, VA
Reviews:
·Verizon Wireless..
·Comcast

I wish I knew. I provide a feed to that site, and I have been having issues. I was thinking maybe I should disconnect from it. Till this message goes away.
I was hoping Burner50 (think that's his name here) would chime in. Maybe he would know something.
--
Long you live and high you fly, and smiles you'll give and tears you'll cry,
and all you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be.



drjim
Premium,MVM
join:2000-06-13
Long Beach, CA
kudos:3

reply to Robotics
Same here....



alphapointe
Don't Touch Me
Premium,MVM
join:2002-02-10
Columbia, MO
kudos:2

reply to Robotics
Same thing here... reading the "why was this page blocked" page, it looks like some ads are doing mean things. I run adblock, so it wouldn't affect me, but...
--
"When the hammer drops, the bullshit stops"



Robotics
See You On The Dark Side
Premium
join:2003-10-23
Louisa, VA

reply to Robotics
I shut my feed down for awhile till I hear something.



alphapointe
Don't Touch Me
Premium,MVM
join:2002-02-10
Columbia, MO
kudos:2

I'm going to do the same... people wanting to listen to the snow related traffic are just going to have to deal...
--
"When the hammer drops, the bullshit stops"



linloutoo

join:2003-12-04
Louisa, VA

reply to Robotics
I'm getting the same alert.



Robotics
See You On The Dark Side
Premium
join:2003-10-23
Louisa, VA
Reviews:
·Verizon Wireless..
·Comcast

reply to alphapointe

said by alphapointe:

I'm going to do the same... people wanting to listen to the snow related traffic are just going to have to deal...

Yeah. Who knows what could happen being tied into their servers constantly. I don't feel right taken a chance.
--
Long you live and high you fly, and smiles you'll give and tears you'll cry,
and all you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be.


David
Now accepting new patients
Premium,VIP
join:2002-05-30
Granite City, IL
kudos:78

reply to Robotics
I got it too on palemoon.



rogersmogers

@start.ca

reply to Robotics
Lindsay is saying google is triggering false notices BUT I am getting prompts to install Java so makes me think some banner ad malware going on.



meshif
Premium
join:2007-10-08
Windsor, ON

reply to Robotics
I got a similar page in Chrome. When I finally got to the site, it wanted me to install Java. I closed Chrome and ran Malwarebytes instead and turns out I managed to get Trojan.Agent.TIB. I do have AdBlock installed but this still managed to get through.
--

said by mrkevin :
It only takes a man and a dog to run a DMS. The dog is to keep the man away from it


Coolguy2

@optonline.net

Its real and there is an explanation in their admin forums about how malware got distributed to viewers via a hacked adserver. They think its clean now.

You should really disable Java in all browsers.



ds5v50

join:2003-01-22
Fremont, OH

reply to Robotics
Disregard.



rogersmogers

@start.ca

reply to Coolguy2

said by Coolguy2 :

Its real and there is an explanation in their admin forums about how malware got distributed to viewers via a hacked adserver. They think its clean now.

You should really disable Java in all browsers.

Where do you see the post about this in the forums. Per normal they have been pretty non-info giving about this.


drjim
Premium,MVM
join:2000-06-13
Long Beach, CA
kudos:3
Reviews:
·Verizon FiOS

reply to Robotics
I received this a little while ago in an email from a scanner group I belong to:

Founder and CEO of RadioReference says

We are working with google at this time to get the warning cleared.
Please be patieent.

Google appears to have interpreted some of javascript as malicious.
Am working with them to get this cleared in the mean time yes we are actively aware of the issue and we are working to get it cleared up.

It will probably take some time to get cleared up across the internet.
--
One man's Magic is another man's Engineering.



Robotics
See You On The Dark Side
Premium
join:2003-10-23
Louisa, VA
Reviews:
·Verizon Wireless..
·Comcast

Thank you for that info! Someone in this thread said they got the
"Trojan.Agent.TIB" on their machine. Maybe that was already on there. (?)

I know I have never been prompt to install Java on their site, and I don't have it on my machine, so that has me wondering what that is all about.

I hope he is right about Google. I did notice none of this happened on the Broadcastify site.

Thanks again for the update.
--
Long you live and high you fly, and smiles you'll give and tears you'll cry,
and all you touch and all you see, is all your life will ever be.



hey

@adp.com

reply to Robotics
It came up fine for me in IE. I get the same message in Firefox.



alphapointe
Don't Touch Me
Premium,MVM
join:2002-02-10
Columbia, MO
kudos:2

...and that would be because IE doesn't give a rats' ass about security...
--
"When the hammer drops, the bullshit stops"


cOOLguy

join:2009-09-10
Torrington, CT

reply to rogersmogers

said by rogersmogers :

said by Coolguy2 :

Its real and there is an explanation in their admin forums about how malware got distributed to viewers via a hacked adserver. They think its clean now.

You should really disable Java in all browsers.

Where do you see the post about this in the forums. Per normal they have been pretty non-info giving about this.

The thread I read this in has been deleted, probably because they made a statement that they think the problem is cleaned up but use at your own risk.

To convince yourself that this a real threat, all your have to do is look at all the posts from users with screen shots from their anti virus program giving warnings.

Moreover, google identified particular trojans that were downloaded by name.

To me, all of this means it is real and NOT a false positive.

FWIW, I just a got a PSR-800 last night from HRO and was reading up on it. (It works like a charmn, and the libary and firmware isnt even updated yet)

If you are more interested in how this happened, it turns out the site itself was not hacked.

Like most sites, RR serves up ads to make revenue, like Scanner Master (evil price gougers from which I will never buy anything again--they upped the PSR price to 699 as the supply dwindles).

These ads com from different computer servers. The servers which provide the ads were attacked and loaded with Java exploits.

Friday, 24-May 02:59:50 Terms of Use & Privacy | feedback | contact | Hosting by nac.net - DSL,Hosting & Co-lo
over 13.5 years online © 1999-2013 dslreports.com.
Most commented news this week
Hot Topics