spc
uniqs
The Huntsman
join:2011-10-19
United State

The Huntsman to Doc Lithius

to Doc Lithius

Re: [Networking] Online Gaming on HughesNet

With Gen4 and the HT1000, I decided to start playing some games. I installed World of Warcraft, and it worked, but I never really liked it so I decided to download DC Universe Online. It played very smoothly and I greatly enjoyed it, until today... I started playing PVP and it worked very well - I won a few matches and lost a few matches - but a few hours later I discovered that I was banned.

They haven't yet given me a reason, but based on what I've seen, I suspect that they're going to accuse me of hacking. I didn't hack. I wouldn't even know how to hack. I'm thinking this is somehow related to HughesNet. Maybe the web acceleration or the turbo pages? I don't know. I'm going to try to appeal the thing once they actually accuse me of it - should they accuse me of it - but has something like this happened to anybody else while playing an online game via HughesNet?
Finn532
join:2012-07-03

Finn532

They'll probably try to pin you with lag switching. You might be able to appeal it with screenshots of your ping times and explaining high pings are normal on Hughesnet. I've been accused by randoms on Xbox Live of hacking while playing Red Dead Redemption and GTA4 because of lag, but I've never been banned.
The Huntsman
join:2011-10-19
United State

The Huntsman

said by Finn532:

They'll probably try to pin you with lag switching. You might be able to appeal it with screenshots of your ping times and explaining high pings are normal on Hughesnet. I've been accused by randoms on Xbox Live of hacking while playing Red Dead Redemption and GTA4 because of lag, but I've never been banned.