Search similar:

uniqs

ungovernable
@cgocable.ca

ungovernable

Anon

HTTP server with login : security ?

So here is my situation:

I have CCTV cameras around my house. The system has a dedicated computer to run a web server (Geovision) so i can monitor the cameras remotely.

I have set up the system to use port 7148. When you type my IP address in a web browser, followed by the port number, you are brought to a login page. If you can get the password right you can view everything in my house including the recordings archive.

So i am a bit concerned about security. I guess someone who gets the hand on my IP address can easily bruteforce the password and then see everything in my house. I don't like that.

Is there a way i can add bruteforce protection to my webserver or my router ?

I use a $200 NetGear ProSafe FVS318N router and it has a good reputation of being highly secure. Maybe there's a way to add bruteforce protection with my router ? Problem is that i'm a newbie with networking and i don't know how to do it.

Wifi is secure. I'm just worried about bruteforce on the webserver.

Anav
Sarcastic Llama? Naw, Just Acerbic
Premium Member
join:2001-07-16
Dartmouth, NS

1 recommendation

Anav

Premium Member

Definitely you need to secure that connection to the server.
Can you put an SSH server on the same computer? You could SSH tunnel in remotely that way. You could also setup an L2TP VPN connection to remote in as well.

cdru
Go Colts
MVM
join:2003-05-14
Fort Wayne, IN

cdru to ungovernable

MVM

to ungovernable
Your router appears to support VPN connections. Just use that.

ungovernable
@cgocable.ca

ungovernable to Anav

Anon

to Anav
Well i can install whatever i want on that computer

I really have no experience with SSH or VPN... Would i still be able to access the cameras through a web browser without having to install anything ?

I'm also using an android app to monitor the cameras from my tablet so i dont want to block that neither