spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

noname1234

@sbcglobal.net

Wind turbine technician considering tower work...?????

I have been offered a position as a tower climber at $17 /hr, 60 hours a week, $100 per diem, 6 weeks on, 1 week off. I did the math and came to around $7.5k a month before tax...

does this sound right???? I was also offered another position at a other company that was only offering $13/hr and $75 per diem.

I want to know the truth here. I work in the wind industry, making $40-45k ish, and I don't want to leave this industry to be making the same amount but with increased risk & dangers.

Thank you!!!

rfnut
Premium
join:2002-04-27
Fisher, IL
kudos:2
Reviews:
·Mediacom
There are alot of variables to consider. You mention making 42K. Does that include a perdiem? Set aside the the 60 hour week calculation. Weather will not always allow it. Travel will probably be alot different as well. Bouncing all over compared to generally larger work locations. Also need to know ALL the details. Who provides, tools safety equipment, training, travel arrangements ( and are they like 6 people stuffed in a work truck). There is a hell of alot more to it than money. The grass is always greener if you do not look to close.

PS: Not knowing much about turbine work, have you ever had to bust an inch of ice off your ladder in a 20 mile an hour wind (with no safety climb) on the way up, just to have it freeze up again behind ya? Just food for thought.

Semaphore
Premium
join:2003-11-18
kudos:1
reply to noname1234
Don't know about US but in Canada, in 'Telecom', You climb when you're told or you are unemployed. Period.

Chele

join:2003-07-23
kudos:1
reply to noname1234