spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

xech

join:2012-11-22

Comcast 1Gbps Service

Hi Guys, If comcast has fiber network all over the country, why doesn't it provide 1Gbps internet and uses carppy coaxial RF conversion from the fiber node, why doesn;t it use fiber to the home like fios so there is no loss.

gar187er
I do this for a living

join:2006-06-24
Dover, DE
kudos:4

1 recommendation

not enough fibers to go around. thats why its limited to businesses....in the future when more sophisticated WDM methods come out, i suspect them to move closer to offering a premium residential service on fiber, but with a hefty price tag.

its also not just the fiber but you have to add recievers/transmitters, and potentially more cards on the CMTS.

also on fiber there is loss, way less, which is why you can run it great distances, you also have to look at the maintenance costs of it as well, and time. When a piece of hardline gets cut i can have it repaired in around 15 minutes from pulling up in my truck, to shrinking it up; try that with fiber!
--
I'm better than you!

xech

join:2012-11-22

1 edit

Bussiness internet 1 Gbps is available everywhere but it's just ridculous price tag, I don't think comcast will have 1Gbps even if they are able to, they are making lots of money limiting connections to like 20, 30,105,305Mbps. They do have enough money to roll out 1 Gbps at like $70 like google fiber, They just will not do it. I don't get it Comcast is the richest cable company with more than $60 Billion on revenue they have more money than verizon does, I think they just want to make money over providing top speed

owlyn
Premium,MVM
join:2004-06-05
Newtown, PA
reply to xech

Because fiber is a money loser. The cost of implementation is high, and it takes forever to recoup the cost. Even Verizon has stopped rolling it out.

rody_44
Premium
join:2004-02-20
Quakertown, PA