how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

cybersaga

join:2011-12-19
Welland, ON

[Anveo] 911 on Anveo

So yesterday, the day after I switched our phone to Anveo, we got a chance to test out the 911 service. Not by choice though!

I wasn't home at the time, but our 3-year-old decided he'd climb the dresser and it fell over on him. He got a massive goose egg on his head. My wife called 911. He's ok though - the docs just wanted to keep him at the hospital for observation for a few hours. Before the paramedics even left the hospital, he was already running around and trying to climb more things! Go figure.

But I was naturally curious about the 911 process over VoIP since I've had no real-world experience, so I asked my wife about how the call went. The first person who answered asked if she needed fire, police or ambulance. She can't remember if he asked her location, but she got transferred properly to our regional dispatch.

So it works well! From what she told me, it didn't seem to slow down the whole process much. I'm impressed!

And yes, we're going to be securing the dressers to the wall now. It's something we had discussed, just never got around to. That'll teach us.

adatech

join:2010-04-23
Curious, are you in the US or Canada? If you're in the US, I'd be concerned that you apparently weren't immediately routed to your local PSAP. As I understand it, that's not an option in Canada.

cybersaga

Welland, ON
I'm in Canada.

Curiously enough, after being transferred to the regional dispatch, she was then transferred to the city's dispatch. No idea why they don't just have just one for the whole region, but that's not Anveo's thing.

HC Sinclair

@optonline.net
reply to adatech
said by adatech:

Curious, are you in the US or Canada? If you're in the US, I'd be concerned that you apparently weren't immediately routed to your local PSAP. As I understand it, that's not an option in Canada.

I believe that the OP is in Canada.