spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

chatterjb

@rr.com

UVerse and PhonePower?

My parents are about to close on a new house and will be subscribing to UVerse TV & Internet (probably the mid-tier 'Max' package). They were, however, thinking of getting a non-Uverse VOIP solution for their phone service. I read lots of good things about PhonePower, but I also saw a bunch of posts about it not working so well specifically with Uverse service. All of those posts date back to around 2009. Does anyone have recent experience using PhonePower with their UVerse service? How would you rate your experience?

Thanks,
Dave

woodie

join:2000-09-23
Gulf Breeze, FL

I have no experience with PhonePower, but I am using VOIPo with my Uverse internet only service and have no problems. The two seem to play well together.

chatterjb

@sbcglobal.net

Thanks for your reply. Ok, so you're happy with VOIPo. How's the call quality and all that? Would you notice any difference as compared to a traditional land line?

MDColson

join:2002-12-20
West Hartford, CT
reply to chatterjb

I have been using uverse with ooma for the last year or so and everything works fine. From what I understand the only concerns with uverse and voip is that at&t prioritizes the internet speeds as follows (1) uverse voip phone lines (2) uverse tv and last (3) uverse internet. So there is no way for you to give your voip priority over all internet and tv traffic, the internet speeds will always take a back seat to the phone (which you probably don't have) and the tv (which you may have).
--
»www.mdcolson.com

vrette
Premium
join:2000-07-22
Lombard, IL
reply to chatterjb

I've been using U-verse internet only with a OBi202 / Google Voice for a few months now and can't say I've noticed any difference than when I had U-verse internet and U-verse VOIP.
--
Chairman of the Bored...

woodie

join:2000-09-23
Gulf Breeze, FL
reply to chatterjb