how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Kn1gh7

join:2011-07-22
Sharpsburg, GA

8 downstream channels?

If I remember correctly, I thought Charter only used 4 DS channels. Just noticed today that I have 8 now. I am by no means a network expert, but I assume this is a good thing?

compuguybna

join:2009-06-17
Nashville, TN
Reviews:
·Millenicom
·HughesNet Satell..
·ooma
·Virgin Mobile Br..
·Charter

Only 4 still here..... What is the firmware on your modem???? Must be a CISCO because the screen looks like mine...

Cisco DPC3008
Vendor: Cisco
Hardware Revision: 1.0

MAC Address: 7c:xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx
Bootloader Revision: 2.3.1_R3
Current Software Revision: d3000-v302r125551-111216a
Firmware Name: d3000-v302r125551-111216a.bin
Firmware Build Time: Dec 16 17:22:41 2011
Cable Modem Status: Operational

Power Level: Signal to Noise Ratio:
Channel 1: 4.2 dBmV 41.8 dB
Channel 2: 4.3 dBmV 41.9 dB
Channel 3: 4.3 dBmV 41.7 dB
Channel 4: 4.3 dBmV 41.8 dB

Kn1gh7

Sharpsburg, GA

Firmware: d3000-v302r125551-111216a

And yeah, we have the same exact modem. DPC3008.

KoRnGtL15
Premium
join:2007-01-04
Grants Pass, OR
kudos:1
reply to Kn1gh7

Sounds like something big is coming. They only use 4.

whoaru99

join:2003-12-17

The existing speeds might require only 4 channels, but it sure looks like 8 are active there.

Alas, I think my DOCSIS 3 modem only has 4 DS channel capability. Not that having 8 would materially improve the 30Mbps...but everyone wants the best toys, right?

KoRnGtL15
Premium
join:2007-01-04
Grants Pass, OR

I am thinking the 8 down stream channels are more or less for the Ultra tier? Which is why I am thinking a speed increase is coming soon for that tier. If so. I will need a new modem. My current Ubee U10C035 only does 4 down.

compuguybna

join:2009-06-17
Nashville, TN
Reviews:
·Millenicom
·HughesNet Satell..
·ooma
·Virgin Mobile Br..
·Charter
reply to Kn1gh7