spc
Search similar:

uniqs

cmorgan13
@sbcglobal.net

cmorgan13

Anon

Interface on HF Rig since U-Verse Install

I had U-Verse installed last week. We got the full package Internet, TV and Phone. Since install I have been getting severe interface on my HF Rig. My rig is an Elecraft K3. It is a constant s9+ hash noise on 40M, s7 on 20M and s4 on 15M. I have tried killing power to my different breakers trying to eliminate any other sources. I had something similar a couple years ago that was originating from a bad cell phone charger. Was curious if any else has encountered a issue like this before. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Michael

rolande
Certifiable
MVM,
join:2002-05-24
Dallas, TX
ARRIS BGW210-700
Cisco Meraki MR42

rolande

MVM,

I'm no expert by any means but thought i'd ask relevant questions. I assume you have the power feeds isolated? I wonder if there is noise coming from a common ground. Is your antenna grounded separately? Is your phone line touching any connection for your rig or antenna? The Uverse connection uses VDSL signaling which is known to operate in the AM radio frequency ranges and higher. It could also just be a cheap transformer on the Uverse gateway router doing it. Can you shut the router off and test?

TestBoy
Premium Member
join:2009-10-13
Irmo, SC

TestBoy to cmorgan13

Premium Member

to cmorgan13
UVerse is a challenge to live with as a ham.

I have not been active for several years but I tend to listen.
Everything below 8Mhz was pure noise for me but I have been able to reduce it by moving my feedlines, using power line isolation, etc.

The challenge is transmitting... I tend to reset our iNID or cause the system to retrain constantly even with low power levels. (less than 50 watts)

This info might be of use:
»aa6e.net/wiki/Uverse

(I have a few old rigs I use.. a few kenwierds and a Yaesu... I have been eyeballing those Elecraft rigs.)

cmorgan13
@sbcglobal.net

cmorgan13 to rolande

Anon

to rolande