gwalk
Premium Member
join:2005-07-27
West Mich.

1 edit

gwalk

Premium Member

MS Messenger Alternative

With the upcoming demise of Microsoft Messenger, does anyone have a recommendation for a replacement ?
Skype looks like it sucks.

dandelion
MVM
join:2003-04-29
Germantown, TN

dandelion

MVM

Re: MS Messenger

I have had very good luck with Trillion. In fact went to it about a month ago and very pleased...even with the free version.

gwalk
Premium Member
West Mich.

gwalk

Premium Member

Thanks, I'll have a peak at Trillion.
I wonder if Trillion will continue to operate..I seem to recall that Trillion used part of the MS Messenger underpinings.

urbanriot
Premium Member
join:2004-10-18
Canada

urbanriot to gwalk

Premium Member

to gwalk
I've been using Miranda Instant Messenger for many, many, many years. Over those years, friends had weird issues with Trillian they'd continually complain about, either showing up as logged in yet they can't receive messages or they think they're logged in yet they don't receive messages or file transfer problems... but since the early days, I've never had any of those problems.

It's super lightweight too - »www.miranda-im.org/

gwalk
Premium Member
West Mich.

gwalk

Premium Member

Thanks, downloaded. I'll give it a try.
moes
Premium Member
join:2009-11-15
Cedar City, UT

1 recommendation

moes to gwalk

Premium Member

to gwalk
Skype does not suck, I was like that back in 2007, was refusing to ditch messenger, once I did get around to using it, it's all I use and all I will use.
19579823 (banned)
An Awesome Dude
join:2003-08-04

19579823 (banned) to gwalk

to gwalk

quote:
Skype looks like it sucks.
It does since Microsoft took it over!

Good luck my friend

siljaline
I'm lovin' that double wide
Premium Member
join:2002-10-12
Montreal, QC

siljaline to gwalk

Premium Member

to gwalk

Perhaps this would help Comparison of instant messaging clients

Anav
Sarcastic Llama? Naw, Just Acerbic
Premium Member
join:2001-07-16