Gem
Premium
join:2005-09-10
kudos:4
Reviews:
·CableOne

4 edits

[WIN8] W8 won't copy and paste files to C: drive

The W8 permission/priveledge mess is driving me crazy.

I'm running W8 on a two drive system that also has occasional multiple different flash drives attached.

I'm an admin on the system and have full permissions.

The OS drive is on an SSD drive. Most data is on a plain Sata Harddrive. From time to time I want to copy a file onto the C: drive from the Data drive or from a thumb drive, but W8 says no, you can't do that.

"Error Code 0x80070522 - Priviledge not held by client."

Since this is only a personal computer, not something used to run Fort Knox, how do we turn off all the non-sense that stops even the simplest normal tasks from being completed?

I don't think it is a UAC issue. That is already set to the lowest level. Can we disable all the W8 permission blocks?

P.S. - When I go to the file properties it appears that, as an admin, I already have full permissions, but sometimes still can't copy and paste from the other drives to the OS drive. Other times if I copy and paste first to the desktop W8 will then allow copying and pasting from the desktop to the main C: drive directory.

workablob

join:2004-06-09
Houston, TX
kudos:3
Reviews:
·Comcast

Turn UAC on FULL and try again.

It should prompt to CONTINUE at which point it will allow you to click OK as an admin.

When UAC is disabled I believe it won't prompt for elevation, which is required.

I built a Win7 VM and turned UAC off.

When I tried to do some things that requred elevation it would just fail.

Another thing you could try is elevate the command prompt and try copying it that way just as a test to see if UAC is indeed the culprit.

Just a semi-educated guess.

Thanks,

David
--
I may have been born yesterday. But it wasn't at night.

Gem
Premium
Reviews:
·CableOne

4 edits