dirtyjeffer0
Posers don't use avatars.
Premium Member
join:2002-02-21
London, ON

dirtyjeffer0

Premium Member

[Beginner] New iMac 27"

Just got my new iMac 27" today. I'm sure in the next few weeks, I may pop by with some questions, but so far so good. The display is gorgeous and set up was a breeze (my first mac). Any tips or suggestions for noob are welcome and appreciated. Been a Windows user since the beginning, so I am pretty new to this stuff, but a few of my friends switched over the last few years and haven't looked back, so I figured I would try one as well.

Metatron2008
You're it
Premium Member
join:2008-09-02
united state

Metatron2008

Premium Member

Get parallels for gaming
MichelR
join:2011-07-03
Trois-Rivieres, QC

MichelR to dirtyjeffer0

to dirtyjeffer0
said by dirtyjeffer0:

Just got my new iMac 27" today. I'm sure in the next few weeks, I may pop by with some questions, but so far so good. The display is gorgeous and set up was a breeze (my first mac). Any tips or suggestions for noob are welcome and appreciated. Been a Windows user since the beginning, so I am pretty new to this stuff, but a few of my friends switched over the last few years and haven't looked back, so I figured I would try one as well.

I'm still getting used to some things after 8 months. Some UI decisions are downright stupid/antiquated, but overall things run well.

One of the first things I did was get Parallels to run Windows software. That's an everyday thing. Some software just isn't there on the Mac, or is vastly inferior. Parallels does a good job of integrating the Mac and Windows applications. When you run it in Coherence mode, the Windows applications are just "like"(sort of) Mac applications running on the desktop - i.e. you don't have to deal with a full Windows desktop alongside the Mac one.