spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Mike2012

@qwest.net

changed to netgear d6200 and will not connect

i am new to centurylink and DSL i received an Actiontec Q100A last week and it works but i wanted to shitch to the new Netgear D6200 Modem/Router but i keep getting (No DSL Cable is Plugged into ADSL Port) message. Any ideas

billaustin
they call me Mr. Bill
Premium,MVM
join:2001-10-13
North Las Vegas, NV
kudos:5

Are you in an ADSL or VDSL area? If VDSL, you will have to put the Actiontec modem in bridge mode and connect it to the WAN port on the Netgear router.

NormanS
I gave her time to steal my mind away
Premium,MVM
join:2001-02-14
San Jose, CA
kudos:11
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC

said by billaustin:

Are you in an ADSL or VDSL area? If VDSL, you will have to put the Actiontec modem in bridge mode and connect it to the WAN port on the Netgear router.

What WAN port? The Netgear D6200 is an RG with a phone port, a USB port, and four LAN ports.
--
Norman
~Oh Lord, why have you come
~To Konnyu, with the Lion and the Drum

NormanS
Premium,MVM
San Jose, CA
Reviews:
·SONIC.NET
·Pacific Bell - SBC
reply to Mike2012

said by Mike2012 :

i am new to centurylink and DSL i received an Actiontec Q100A last week and it works but i wanted to shitch to the new Netgear D6200 Modem/Router but i keep getting (No DSL Cable is Plugged into ADSL Port) message. Any ideas

Is the Actiontec Q1000A a VDSL modem? It seems to be a VDSL modem. The Netgear D6200 is an ADSL2+ modem. While the Actiontec appears able to work with ADSL2+, I doubt that the Netgear will work with VDSL. If your CenturyLink service is VDSL, you likely need to exchange the ADSL2+ modem (Netgear) for a VDSL modem.
--
Norman

Mike2012

@qwest.net
reply to NormanS

Yes the WAN port is the same as the Internet Port on back of the D6200 so i will try and bridge and see what happens thanks for info

billaustin
they call me Mr. Bill
Premium,MVM
North Las Vegas, NV