Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Mr Neutron
Ceaseless, Tasteless, and Gormless
Premium
join:2005-05-30
Gorham, ME

What to say/do to get spendthrift relatives to cool it?

Has anyone ever been successful in talking spendthrift (overspending) relatives around to start living within their means? If so, can you please talk about what you said and did?

Likewise, if you tried doing so and it didn't work, that experience might be useful to useful to hear about, too. I realize that some things flat-out shouldn't be done in the first place; perhaps trying to talk a spendthrift into changing their ways is one of them?

I'm kind of new at this sort of thing, so for all I know, spendthrifts might not typically stop on their own, but only when they find themselves so deep in the hole that they just can't go on as they have been.
--
Male Announcer: "The red zone has always been for loading and unloading. There's never stopping in a white zone."

Female Announcer: "Don't tell me which zone is for stopping and which zone is for loading!"

Cabal
Premium
join:2007-01-21

2 recommendations

Unless they're asking you for money, stay out of it (if they are, then you can explain). Most people won't learn the error of their ways *until* they have no other option.
--
If you can't open it, you don't own it.

John Galt
Forward, March
Premium
join:2004-09-30
Happy Camp
kudos:8

1 recommendation

reply to Mr Neutron
Unfortunately, "words of wisdom" is far down on the list of how people learn about things. "Pain and suffering" usually tops that list.

beck
Premium,MVM
join:2002-01-29
On The Road
kudos:1
Reviews:
·Stablehost.com
reply to Mr Neutron
If they never learned growing up, then there is nothing you can do now. Some people just can't.