All Forums Hot Topics Gallery
spc
Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

BruceHodson

join:2013-04-14
Garrettsville, OH

[Credit Card Fraud] I May Lose My Job Over This!

I got scammed. Someone used a debit card belonging to my employer (that I was responsible for) to purchase stereo gear in my name. They had it shipped to a local address (the owner of which I know personally), and the local police that "investigated" this says the online retailer shows it as having been ordered by me.

How can I go about getting the retailer to trace the IP address of the orderer? If I can demonstrate that this wasn't me I won't be terminated.

Snowy
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:6
Reviews:
·Time Warner Cable
·Clearwire Wireless
Sorry to see that you're in this situation.
The only advice I can give is for you to retain a local lawyer with experience in internet/debit card fraud.
A fast Google search produced this link
»www.akroncriminaldefense.com/Cri ··· es.shtml
I have zero knowledge of this firm - I am not endorsing them but just giving you a live example of the direction I believe is in your best interest.

pcdebb
RIP lil hurricane
Premium
join:2000-12-03
Brandon, FL
kudos:5
reply to BruceHodson
can the online retailer not divulge the IP address? Surely they should have this info, and can be turned over to the proper people to prove the IP wasn't yours.
--
| map your city |

pcdebb
RIP lil hurricane
Premium
Brandon, FL
Reviews:
·Bright House Net..
reply to BruceHodson
here is another question, is it possible that someone was in your home and ordered this stuff while in your home on on of your computers or using your internet connection? It really sounds like whoever did this knows you on a personal level if they were able to ship it to someone else that you know on a personal level. And that is where it may get really difficult for you. It might be time to re-evaluate your friendships.....
--
| map your city |

BruceHodson

Garrettsville, OH
reply to BruceHodson