spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

zekar_shre

@yeungnam.ac.kr

About searching 3 or more AP

I am working on Rouge AP detection mechanism. I am new to this research. I would like to know if any user node can see three or more AP of the same campus network or enterprise network at the same time. At lease 3 AP can be seen as 3 different channels can be used. Is it possible for a user node to see more than 3 AP.
Please help me in this matter.
Thanks in advance.

BlueMist

join:2011-01-24
Cookeville, TN

1 edit

I'm not sure exactly what you need but take a look at the following link.

»www.metageek.net/products/inssider/

If you click on the download button you will find that they make an application for Windows, Apple, and Android systems.

The two Windows versions are free and work on most systems that have wireless access. The Mac and Android versions can be had for a minimal charge.

The application will show you the SSID name of the access point, the signal strength, radio channel, and security method among other settings.

As a side note, I have seen as many as 20 access points at one time using my laptop and inSSIDer. All were encrypted with one form or another with many on the same channels. You might see more or likely less depending on where you are at when you run the program.

Hope this gets you going with out having to write your own code.

zekar

join:2013-04-15

Actually, I want a research paper or similar paper that justify that a wireless user node can see 3 or more AP of the same network like campus network.

Anav
Sarcastic Llama? Naw, Just Acerbic
Premium
join:2001-07-16
Dartmouth, NS
kudos:4

Sounds like a school or univerisity assignement. Can you post the actual question.

zekar