spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

biq21

@sbcglobal.net

2 HD shows downloading on max turbo.. only 1.2 Mbps left?

Hi all,

My family just got Max turbo, 1 HD DVR, 2 additional receivers and phone installed and I have to say it has not impressed us at all. As soon as it was all hooked up I ran a speed test.

Here's the results of the test: Initial Speed Test

As you can see this is no where near the max 28, really only 66% percent of it or so.

Now I just got off work and wanted to see if maybe it adjusted while I was gone. Nope, seems worse now tbh.

Getting a solid 1.5 Mbps: Later Speed Test

I'm under the impression that a HD recording should only take 5-8 Mbps away from my bandwidth. I'm really not sure what to do from here because I have little knowledge on how this stuff works really.

Any help would be great, thanks!

When testing are you wireless or hardwired? Only hardware are considered for speed tests as too much can interfere with wireless connections from 2.4 phones, garage doors, baby monitor, microwaves, wireless head phones, etc.

In a mdu such as apartment or condo complex or single family home? Mdu have disadvantage of many more users causing inference on wireless signal as well as Max out bandwidths available, time of day when users are home or not.

Do you have a router or switch behind the gateway?

Max turbo is Max 24 not 28, additional it is an up to 24 not a guarantee 24.
Most users on that profile will see 75-95% of speed that is 18-22.5
Yes TVs service takes precedent and on a 32 meg profile with two HD feeds active 18 -19 would be Max obtained

If heavy users of HD programming may want to lower internet profile to save some money and get what you are paying for, or limit HD to SD.

Recommend unplug dvr (no recordings taking place), turn off all stbs, direct connect to RG, run several speed tests take average for more accurate speed, if believe a problem exist call for a tech visit.

tkunkel
tkunkel