join:2009-07-24
Menlo Park, CA

caprichoso

Premium Member

[Connectivity] grc shields up shows 3 ports not in stealth mode

Comcast Extreme 105
Make & Model: SMC Networks smcd3gnv
Serial Number# 0026F37B98F0

I am on a mid 2010 MacPro running OS/X 10.8.3. My virus software is Intego VirusBarrier X6. I have Comcast Extreme 105 (running at 114/21 Mbps) and telephone. When I run www.grc.com's ShieldsUP! to test my port security the test fails. 3 ports (23, 80, and 443) show up as closed rather than as stealth. According to Intego this is a hardware issue with the SMC router/gateway. It should not respond.

Comcast support sent me to SMC. SMC has no way of contacting them - they send you to Comcast. 20+ calls. Multiple modem resets. 5+ disconnects and I am nowhere.

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

gar187er

Re: [Connectivity] grc shields up shows 3 ports not in stealth m

did you check the firewall settings in the gateway? and or the port settings?
caprichoso
Premium Member
Menlo Park, CA

caprichoso

Premium Member

I tried changing the firewall setting to maximum security. It is unclear whether the setting took as the setting web page hung after I clicked on "Maxium Security". ShieldsUp! still shows the ports as closed. Now I can't connect to the gateway even though my Mac is directly connected to the modem. Tried another browser and the gateway is no longer responding to direct HTTP requests. I did hit the "help" button on the firewall security page before changing the setting, but the resulting web page was useless.

gar187er
I DID this for a living
join:2006-06-24
Seattle, WA

gar187er to caprichoso

to caprichoso
i would think you want to do custom settings, or lower the security on the modem. do you have a router?

NetFixer
From My Cold Dead Hands
Premium Member
join:2004-06-24
The Boro
Netgear CM500
Pace 5268AC
TRENDnet TEW-829DRU

2 recommendations

NetFixer to caprichoso

Premium Member

to caprichoso
said by caprichoso: