share rss forum feed

Gem
Premium
join:2005-09-10
kudos:4
Reviews:
·CableOne

Total novice looking for a short basic Linux user manual

Problems with Windows 8 have convinced me to try Linux.

The current distro of choice is mini PCLinux.

All I need is a short basic users manual that explains the basics and that covers how to add a USB wireless WPA2 device to the installed distro. I'd like to be able to use Linux to surf the Internet, to send emails, and perhaps shop on eBay and Amazon with Linux.

The manual needs to be written for very old users who only speak English and who haven't a clue what the Linux terms mean.

Ideally, the manual would explain "How to..." in Linux terms and would then translate the instructions into something a simple-minded Windows user can understand. Otherwise, I have no idea how I'll ever learn enough about how to use Linux to make it a viable alternative to Microsoft products.

And that is the objective, to learn enough to use Linux and to get away from Microsoft or at least away from Windows 8 on new builds.

Any suggestions for an old user with a short memory and limited cognitive skills?

===========================================

P.S. - it's okay to say

"This is way beyond your ability, stick with Windows"

if that is your honest opinion.

Black Box

join:2002-12-21
Well, a lot of things in Linux "just work(TM)". For what does not, there is Google. Search for HOWTO and the appropriate keywords. For example, you may wish to search for "USB wifi HOWTO". Adding the distro name to the search can be useful too. There are also sites like »www.howtoforge.com/ with lots of useful info.