share rss forum feed

daveinpoway
Premium
join:2006-07-03
Poway, CA
kudos:2

2 recommendations

5 hot security defenses that don't deliver

"We'd all love to have a magic bullet to stop hackers, but these five defenses won't do the trick, despite what you've been told":

»www.infoworld.com/d/security/5-h···r-217045

Snowy
Premium
join:2003-04-05
Kailua, HI
kudos:6
Reviews:
·Clearwire Wireless
·Time Warner Cable

2 recommendations

Roger Grimes is always a good source for a laugh or a point of serious contention.

"Few people understand the yearning for a security panacea like I do. After all, I've been a security consultant for 25-plus years -- I wish there was a magic solution! That way, I wouldn't have to keep repeating myself and telling clients to take care of the basics over and over. They never do, so I keep talking until I'm hoarse."
Roger, if after 25 years of repeating yourself over & over only to fall on deaf ears maybe the problem is with what you're saying??

"Nevertheless, the security industry keeps coming up with solutions that masquerade as magic bullets. In fact, the five defenses I describe here all have value -- but none of them are game-changers, despite the heavy hype.".
That is not consistent with your headline: "5 hot security defenses that don't deliver"
Which statement was assisted with auto-fill?
I vote for both of them because you're the only person I've seen calling these security layers "magic bullets".

Security dud No. 1: Two-factor authentication
Rarely a week goes by without a service provider mentioning it now offers two-factor authentication (2FA). This includes a who's-who in major service offerings such as Amazon Web Services, Dropbox, Facebook, Google, and Microsoft, to name a few. Better authentication can't hurt security, but it isn't a panacea for our larger computer crime issues, despite the legions who appear to believe that 2FA alone can save them."