spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Duffman667

@mchsi.com

Generic Questions about CenturyLink DSL

Hi everyone. My name is Matt and I am a Network Admin at a little community health center. I just had a question regarding a new business service I am having setup in Hollister Missouri. I spoke with Centurylinks business support and they couldn't give me any straight answers. Basically I ordered a static external IP and the IP address they gave me is the exact same as the Gateway they provided. Is this normal with Centurylink? The tech also told me even though they provided a Static IP that I would need to set my firewall up using DHCP on the WAN interface (I am bridging my modem). So I assume they use DHCP reservation for their static IP's? He didn't seem to know what that was so I would like some clarification. Thanks in advance for any help.

brad152

join:2006-07-27
Phoenix, AZ
Reviews:
·CenturyLink

You might need to set the modem into "Bridge mode" where it acts as a dumb DSL to Ethernet connection then use PPoE on your router with your login and password.

This will bypass the DHCP server on the modem they sent and allow your equipment to be in charge of all DHCP addressing.

I do this currently at home so i can use my slingbox reliably and have been using the same setup on my 40/5 connection for quite some time with no issues.

Duffman667

@myvzw.com