rockotman
...Blown On The Steel Breeze
Premium Member
join:2000-08-06
DSotM

rockotman

Premium Member

Vegetation Control Along Fence Line

Looking for recommendations on products for vegetation control along a split rail fence line. I have been doing it with a wheeled string trimmer for the last three years, but it is definitely a time-consuming task that only provides temporary relief.

I have about 1-1/2 miles of split rail fence in and around my property.

About 1 mile of the fencing is dedicated to horse pasture and is electrified, and the remaining surrounds an area where the horse do not have access.

The main reason for wanting to control the growth around the electrified fence is to keep weeds from shunting the fence wires to ground. A secondary reason for all the fencing is appearance. To me, it looks like shit when the grass is nicely trimmed, but the fence line is overgrown.

Whatever product I use around the pastured area has to be livestock-safe. The remaining area I plan on treating with something like concentrated Roundup.

Any recommendations/experiences would be greatly appreciated.

Lurch77
Premium Member
join:2001-11-22
Green Bay, WI

Lurch77

Premium Member

Grazon is a pasture safe, but only kills broadleaf plants. Many farms around here use it. But I imagine you're looking for something that will kill grasses as well? Hopefully someone with real herbicide knowledge will come along.
HarryH3
Premium Member
join:2005-02-21

HarryH3 to rockotman

Premium Member

to rockotman
While I am certain that it is NOT approved by the EPA, I've seen fence lines kept amazingly clear with an annual application of a 50/50 mix of diesel fuel and used motor oil. It was applied with a standard garden sprayer. That was 40-ish years ago and perhaps that fence line is now a Superfund site...
TheMG
Premium Member
join:2007-09-04
Canada
MikroTik RB450G
Cisco DPC3008
Cisco SPA112

TheMG to rockotman

Premium Member

to rockotman