spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Sanjeev

@spcsdns.net

Live in rural area, about 6 miles from nearest CO.

I ave been here for a little over 6 years, and 6 years ago at&t said they would "soon" be providing dsl to my area...

I understand the reasons why i cannot get it, distance from CO ect ect signal degradation. I have been gaming online for about 2 years with my unlimited plan from sprint....of which i get about -95dbm 0asu..

average 120-200 ms and 1-2.2 mb/s down.

All i want is any kind of wired internet line, be it isdn, ect ect

there are a suspicious number (8) of copper wires that come all the way up to the external company jack outside, and only 2 of them (of the ten total) actually go inside... to serve as a tcp phone line.

question, is it possible that at&t is holding out on me, and that i *could* get service, albeit not very good service, which i would be wholly okay with?

i dont care about downspeed beyond ~256k as long as i can ping at sub 100 ms.

-Sanj

tschmidt
Premium,MVM
join:2000-11-12
Milford, NH
kudos:9
Reviews:
·G4 Communications
·Fairpoint Commun..
·Hollis Hosting

The distance limit for ADSL is about 18,000 to 20,000 feet so 6-miles is way to far.

If AT&T said they were planning to service your area that means they plan to install a Remote Terminal to reduce distance.

ISDN is a possibility. Binding both lines yields 128kbps connection with very low latency. ISDN and T1 are not distance limited as repeaters can be used to extend range. Check with AT&T and see if they support ISDN in your area. It was supposed to be the next big thing in telephony several decades ago but it is very much a legacy technology. There is an ISDN forum here at BBR but it is not very active.

I assume Cable is not an option.

Most states are involved in Federal broadband mapping project. Check that to see what other options are available.