Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

Hel
Goddess Of My Own Little Universe
Premium
join:2002-04-11
Washington, DC

Reccomend me a new router that runs ddwrt or similar?

I just moved, and got RCN 50/6 broadband. And my trusty old wrt54g v2.2 running ddwrt won't give me better than 10/6. I've been told it's because it's just too old and can't handle that much data. So, I apparently need to buy a new router.

However, I LOVED the control ddwrt gave me (QoS and prioritizing traffic by type are LOVE), and will want to be able to put ddwrt or similar on any new router. Ideally, I'd like something I can get for about $50, tho I could go as high as $100 if I had to, but it would hurt. I'm fine with buying online, tho I've also got a Microcenter pretty close by. I don't currently have any wireless N devices, so I don't care if the router does N or not. I've had lots of good experiences with linksys hardware, and crappy ones with belkin and dlink, but I also haven't had a new router in like 5 years, so I'm willing to accept that a company might be better or worse than my perception of them.

So, recommendations? Thanks!
--
“When fascism comes to America, it will be wrapped in the flag, carrying a cross."-Sinclair Lewis 1885-1951

eibgrad

join:2010-03-15

1 edit

1 recommendation

I don't have a specific recommendation for a router, but I will recommend that you find one that also supports Tomato!

I use both dd-wrt and tomato, because neither solves every problem. But more importantly, I've found over the past few years the quality of dd-wrt has been seriously slipping, w/ one problem after another w/ even the most common features, and it never seems to get better. I'm seeing regressions in the area of PPTP (esp. client), OpenVPN, SSH, NAT loopback, etc.