how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

AZSD

join:2011-09-05
Scottsdale, AZ

[CA] Cox Essential HSI in San Diego

I am a part time/seasonal resident of San Diego. For many years I used to have basic $10/month DSL with AT&T that was 768 kilobits per second download and 128 kbps upload. It was so cheap that I never bothered to disconnect and reconnect. When the plan increased to $20 per month and the connection speed started to frustrate me, especially watching YouTube videos, I cancelled at the end of my seasonal visit last summer.

I will in town again soon and would like to know what you all think of Cox Essential HSI Internet Service? I am in an older apartment building that provides Cox Cable Television to all units. About 10 years ago, I had a Cox technician come out to somehow bring the RG6 coaxial cable line for the cable TV from upstairs to downstairs so I could connect a television downstairs and when he connected his electronic instrument to the line, he mentioned something to the effect of me being on the border line as far as being able to receive a good high speed internet connection. I assume that I will have to use a splitter downstairs to run both high speed internet and cable TV, correct? How will that impact the connection speed and the cable TV signal? Does the number of people in the same building and nearby using Cox HSI affect the connection? I know my immediate neighbor has Cox and the guy across the walk path in the building opposite has two computers in the same room and is on the internet the entire day.

Will Cox Essential be adequate for me speed wise? I primarily read news on the internet, send/receive lots of email and watch YouTube videos. No gaming, Netflix or downloading.

Am I going to need professional installation or will a brand new splitter and Motorola Surfboard SB5101 modem be ok?

I hope Cox is easy to deal with as far as canceling and re-starting service 8 months later.

m8trix

join:2003-12-24