birdbrain
Premium Member
join:2000-12-03
Brandon, FL
ARRIS DG1670

pcdebb

Premium Member

[OS X] iTunes issue on iMac

I just acquired myself an iMac today, and I'm getting settled in to using it. I'm very new to mac os but quickly learning.

I'm having performance issues with iTunes. Once I open it, the computer is extremely sluggish and keeps freezing up. I have to wait to be able to click on things. If I close iTunes, everything works flawlessly. Is this normal? Is something being setup in the background since I'm just setting it up? I've been dealing with this for a few hours, so whatever is happening should be done with by now.

I opened Activity Monitor, and for the iTunes process, the CPU% is 0, Threads is 17, Real Mem is 62.4mb.

brhalltx
Premium Member
join:2002-12-09
Cypress, TX

brhalltx

Premium Member

What else is taking up CPU time?

Do you have iTunes Match?

How old is the iMac? How much RAM does it have?

What happens if you leave iTunes running overnight?

mromero
Premium Member
join:2000-12-07
Fullerton, CA

mromero to pcdebb

Premium Member

to pcdebb
SSD or Mechanical?

pcdebb
birdbrain
Premium Member
Brandon, FL
ARRIS DG1670

pcdebb

Premium Member

mromero See Profile i will assume it's mechanical

brhalltx See Profile I dont know, but I will tell you it's definitely iTunes. That app is closed and i'm happily browsing the system with no issues. I've discovered the app store so i can get apps for the system, but i do want to get around to syncing my music on my phone or my ipad mini. I did find a discussion on the apple site where someone said they closed genius and that helped, but it seems that genius is closed for me.