scots
Are we there yet??
Premium Member
join:1999-12-06
Raleigh, NC

scots

Premium Member

[Embarq] CenturyLink Bill Question

I'm new to CenturyLink and was looking over my latest bill again. Noticed a couple things that puzzled me:

North Carolina 911 Fee - I have internet only (no phone service). Why would I have to pay a 911 fee on an internet only line? I don't think I can call 911 (or anything else) on it. I didn't have to pay a 911 fee to Time Warner Cable or to AT&T for U-verse when I had those at my previous residence (also in North Carolina) for internet only service.

Wake Sales Tax - It appears this is being calculated on the $6.99 monthly rental fee of the modem. The town used for my mailing address is located in Wake County, but my home is actually not in that town. It's not located within any town limits, and is actually in neighboring Harnett County. I don't *think* there's any difference in the sales tax rate between the two counties, but I could be wrong. Should I even bother mentioning this to CenturyLink?

Hazy Arc
join:2006-04-10
Greenwood, SC

Hazy Arc

If you have the "pure" broadband offering, then you should still have dial tone and have the ability to dial 911, hence the inclusion of the fees.

Unfortunately, Centurylink no longer offers true dry loop DSL (with no dial tone). Undoubtedly, this is to allow the tacking on of the fees associated with dial tone.

As far as the sales tax, I'd recommend buying your own modem - thus getting rid of the $6.99 charge in addition to the sales tax.

scots
Are we there yet??
Premium Member
join:1999-12-06
Raleigh, NC

1 edit

scots

Premium Member