spc

spacer

how-to block ads

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

TheHox

join:2012-05-31

Charter Communications as upstream provider?

Anyone use Charter as their provider? I have a perfect POP I can setup that has Charter fed to the building already.

Debating contacting them to see if there is anything they can do.

battleop

join:2005-09-28

I am not but I do know that another local ISP/CLEC that is. They are also using them for circuit aggregation.
--
I do not, have not, and will not work for AT&T/Comcast/Verizon/Charter or similar sized company.

TheHox

join:2012-05-31

I wonder if they would give me something via DOCSIS? Or can they give me something else via their copper in the building still.

I am not too sure how they operate either. I am just starting out, debating just getting a business account via docsis and see where I go from there.

bates

join:2013-02-20
reply to TheHox

From what I'm told, Charter has issued a complete ban on new ISP accounts at the moment. They found a WISP who was using them as a provider that had expanded back into Charter's territory and was competing with Charter for the customer base. Currently, management is deciding how to proceed (legally, practically, etc) and noone is sure what their final decision will look like. They may not open this avenue up again.

treichhart

join:2006-12-12
reply to TheHox

hmm I know couple of WISP's using charter so I dont know where you heard that bates... The agreement was they couldnt compete in the same town where charter was in at.

WISPer
Premium
join:2013-06-20
San Luis Obispo, CA

1 recommendation

reply to TheHox