spacer

Search Topic:
uniqs
share rss forum feed

hawkesrw

join:2013-05-23
Libby, MT

Windows 8!!

Just bought a new computer. I've been a IT Tech for Years. Am I the only one to find Windows 8 a confusing Mess? I still miss XP though 7 was nice also.

CylonRed
Premium,MVM
join:2000-07-06
Bloom County
Search for Win 8 in the forum - plenty of threads on the topic..

hawkesrw

Libby, MT
reply to hawkesrw
I guess I was meaning this as a general statement not a specific help issue.

Example: I hated Vista but had to learn it anyway!

Kilroy
Premium,MVM
join:2002-11-21
Saint Paul, MN
reply to hawkesrw
Don't look at it as Windows 8, look at it as a new operating system. A lot of what you know from Windows will serve you well, you just need to explore your new operating system. I believe a large part of the backlash on Windows 8 is how different it is from previous versions of Windows...initially. After you use it for a while you'll be fine. A touch screen makes life a bit easier, but is not required. When the update that brings the Start button back comes out things should be more or less back to normal for most people.
--
“Progress isn't made by early risers. It's made by lazy men trying to find easier ways to do something.” ¯ Robert A. Heinlein

hawkesrw

Libby, MT
reply to hawkesrw
I am sure your right. I had to print something the other night and it took me five minutes to find the print button....now tell me?...Is that embarrassing or what?

It's like a operating system on top of another operating system and certain things you can not do unless you launch from the desktop.....AHH? I'm sure I've got a couple more months before I get it down.

Do you know many companies even with its limited support still use XP. It needs to be user friendly before they add all these bells and whistles in particulars for large companies who don't want to spend thousands of dollars retraining there staff.

SparkyinCFL
Premium
join:2008-12-21
Saint Cloud, FL
kudos:1
reply to hawkesrw