uniqs
Mele20
Premium Member
join:2001-06-05
Hilo, HI

Mele20 to swintec

Premium Member

to swintec

Re: Does the leased SB6141 only get firmware updated?

said by swintec:

I knew those modems used the same firmware image however I figured they simply set the 6141 for the upgrade.

But why would Oceanic do that? Seems to me that to have a smooth running network Oceanic would upgrade all 6120, 6121 and 6141 modems on the network to the same firmware. But then I am not an engineer...so.....

motorola870
join:2008-12-07
Arlington, TX

motorola870

said by Mele20:

said by swintec:

I knew those modems used the same firmware image however I figured they simply set the 6141 for the upgrade.

But why would Oceanic do that? Seems to me that to have a smooth running network Oceanic would upgrade all 6120, 6121 and 6141 modems on the network to the same firmware. But then I am not an engineer...so.....

then again you never know TWC pushed a new version of the SBG6580 firmware to my modem in the middle of the day!

swintec
Premium Member
join:2003-12-19
Alfred, ME

swintec to Mele20

Premium Member

to Mele20
said by Mele20:

said by swintec:

I dont know whether or not the 6121s had issues with firmware 1.0.6.3. SOME 6141s did. It creates a possible liability to upgrade firmware on modems.

Are you implying the network is not running smoothly because some 6121s do not have a later firmware that fixes problems they didnt have to begin with? What if it CREATED problems after upgrade?
Mele20
Premium Member
join:2001-06-05
Hilo, HI

Mele20

Premium Member